Shooting Stars · 2010

Celebrating 14 years of recognizing artistic achievement and awarding scholarships to outstanding graduating high school seniors, who are residents of Johnson County, KS.

Sponsored by the Arts Council of Johnson County

The Shooting Stars Recognition and Scholarship Program was initiated in 1996 as the inspiration of Robert Endres, who was then a member of the Board for the Arts and Humanities Association of Johnson County and is still actively involved with the program. Now in its fourteenth year, the program has continued to grow through the generosity of community contributors, including Johnson County Community College, members of the Arts Ambassadors, as well as through the dedicated work of the staff and volunteers of the Arts Council of Johnson County. Since 1996, more than 800 high school seniors, who are Johnson County residents, have been honored for excellence in the performing, literary and visual arts.

Students honored through the Shooting Stars Program have been nominated by high school faculty members of the Blue Valley, De Soto, Gardner-Edgerton, Olathe, Shawnee Mission and Spring Hill School Districts, as well as Rockhurst, Barstow, St. Thomas Aquinas High School, St. Theresa’s Academy, Marantha Academy, Bishop Miege High School, The Pembroke Hill School, and Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy.

Through the generous support of individuals, businesses and foundations, the Arts Council of Johnson County annually awards $27,000 in college scholarships. All nominated finalists are eligible to compete for the scholarships. Over the past 13 years, the program has awarded over $200,000 in scholarships.

College scholarships are awarded based on criteria established by the Selection and Criteria Committee for Shooting Stars. Using this criteria, independent judges make final decisions regarding scholarship winners through live auditions, portfolio presentations or images of art works. Scholarship funds are awarded directly to the colleges selected by the recipients.

With the support of the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, works by the visual arts finalists will be exhibited annually in the Nerman Museum. Bruce Hartman, executive director, Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, along with Kent Smith, museum coordinator, selected one work from each of the visual arts finalists for exhibition in the McCaffree Gallery.

The Arts Council of Johnson County enhances the quality of life in the community by strengthening the arts.