Shooting Stars · 2011

Celebrating 15 years of recognizing artistic achievement and awarding scholarships to outstanding graduating high school seniors, who are residents of Johnson County, Kansas.

Sponsored by the Arts Council of Johnson County

The Shooting Stars Recognition and Scholarship Program was initiated in 1996 as the inspiration of Chairman Emeritus Robert Endres, who was then a member of the Board for the Arts and Humanities Association of Johnson County. Now in its fifteenth year, the program has continued to grow through the generosity of community contributors, including JCCC, members of the Arts Ambassadors, as well as through the dedicated work of the staff and volunteers of the Arts Council of Johnson County. Since 1996, more than 1,000 high school seniors, who are Johnson County residents, have been honored for excellence in the performing, literary and visual arts.

Students honored through the Shooting Stars Program have been nominated by high school faculty members of the Blue Valley, De Soto, Gardner-Edgerton, Olathe, Shawnee Mission and Spring Hill School Districts, as well as Barstow, Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy, Maranatha Academy, Notre Dame de Sion, St. Teresa’s Academy, St. Thomas Aquinas High School, and Pembroke Hill Upper School.

Through the generous support of individuals, businesses and foundations, the Arts Council annually awards $27,000 in college scholarships. All nominated finalists are eligible to compete for the scholarships. Over the past 15 years, the program has awarded over $200,000 in scholarships.

College scholarships are awarded based on criteria established by the Arts Council Board of Directors. Using these criteria, independent judges make final decisions regarding scholarship winners through live auditions, portfolio presentations, or images of art works. Scholarship funds are awarded directly to the colleges selected by the recipients.

With support from the Nerman Museum, works by the visual arts finalists are exhibited annually in the museum, and with support from the Performing Arts Series, the recognition & awards ceremony is held each year in Yardley Hall. Bruce Hartman, the museum’s executive director, along with Kent Smith, museum coordinator, selected one work from each of the finalists for exhibition.

The Arts Council of Johnson County enhances the quality of life in the community by strengthening the arts.

Board of Directors Arts Council of Johnson County Scholarship Categories
Blake Schreck, president Douglas Drake Photography

Bradley D. Douglas, vice president
of development

Augie Huber Three-Dimensional Art
Bob Rohlf, vice president of marketing Connie Nolte Two-Dimensional Art
David Oliver, vice president
of operations and finance
Tim McKee Literature
Sandy Kelly, treasurer Josh Shelton Theater/Performance
Megan England, secretary Henry Sandate Theater/Technical
Joe Water Voice
Winds and Percussion