Shooting Stars · 2012

Created in 1996 by Chairman Emeritus Robert Endres, a then member of the Board for the Arts and Humanities Association of Johnson County, the Shooting Stars Program is one of the few initiatives in the community to honor high school students and their arts educators for artistic excellence in the literary, performing, and visual arts through recognition, scholarships and awards.

Sponsored by the Arts Council of Johnson County

With the help of generous contributors and program partners including Johnson County Community College, the Performing Arts Series, the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, the Arts Ambassadors and the dedicated staff and volunteers of the Arts Council of Johnson County, the program continues to grow. Since its creation, the Shooting Stars Program has recognized almost 1,000 high school seniors and awarded over $200,000 in college scholarships and almost $65,000 in teacher honorariums.

To participate in the Program, twelfth grade students must be nominated by their respective high school arts teacher and also be a resident of Johnson County, KS. Once nominated, Finalists then audition or submit a portfolio of work for review by independent judges. All participating teachers and students are honored and scholarship recipients announced at the Annual Shooting Stars Gala in the spring.

This year, students honored in the Shooting Stars Program have been nominated by high school faculty members of the Blue Valley, De Soto, Gardner-Edgerton, Olathe, Shawnee Mission and Spring Hill School Districts, as well as the Barstow School, Maranatha Academy, Notre Dame de Sion, St. James Academy, St. Thomas Aquinas High School, and Pembroke Hill Upper School.

With the ongoing support of the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, works by the visual arts finalists will be exhibited annually in the Museum. Bruce Hartman,Executive Director, Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, along with Kent Smith, museum coordinator, selected one work from each of the finalists for exhibition in the Museum. We hope you enjoy this year’s exhibition.

The Arts Council of Johnson County enhances the quality of life in the community by strengthening the arts.

ACJC Board of
Arts Ambassadors Scholarship Categories
Josh Shelton, president Linda and Chuck Carlsen              Literature

David Oliver, vice president
of operations and finance

Richard Carrothers and   
Dennis Hennessy
Sandy Kelly, treasurer Eileen Cohen and Byron
Megan England, secretary Joni Cohen Theater Performance                                  
Blake Schreck, immediate
past president
Mark Gilman Theater/Technical
Abby Beckloff Pam and Gary Gradinger Three-Dimensional Art
Douglas Drake Shirley and Barnett Helzberg Two-Dimensional Art
Augie Huber Linda and Topper Johntz Voice
Mindi Love Diana and Len Kline Winds and Percussion
Tim McKee Margaret and Jerry Nerman  
Henry Sandate Susan and Lewis Nerman  
Susan Tate Kay and Tom Martin
Joe Waters Lee and Carl McCaffree
2012 Honorary Chairs: Lynne
and Peter Brown
Marti and Tony Oppenheimer
Ann and Bob Regnier