Shooting Stars · 2015

Created in 1996, by Chairman Emeritus Robert Endres, a then member of the Board for the Arts and Humanities Association of Johnson County, the Shooting Stars Program is one of the few initiatives in the community to honor high school students and their arts educators for artistic excellence in the literary, performing and visual arts through recognition, scholarships and awards.

Sponsored by the Arts Council of Johnson County

With the help of generous contributors and program partners, including Johnson County Community College, the Performing Arts Series, the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, the Arts Ambassadors and the dedicated staff and volunteers of the Arts Council of Johnson County, the program continues to grow. Since its creation, the Shooting Stars Program has recognized over 1,000 high school seniors and awarded over $250,000 in college scholarships and over $65,000 in teacher honorariums.
To participate in the Program, twelfth grade students must be nominated by their high school arts teacher and be a resident of Johnson County, KS. Once nominated, finalists then audition or submit a portfolio of work for review by independent judges. All participating teachers and students are honored and scholarship recipients are announced at the Annual Shooting Stars Gala in the spring.

This year, students honored in the Shooting Stars Program have been nominated by high school faculty members of the Blue Valley, De Soto, Gardner-Edgerton, Olathe, Shawnee Mission and Spring Hill School Districts, as well as the Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy, Notre Dame de Sion, Pembroke Hill Upper School, St. James Academy, St. Thomas Aquinas High School and St. Teresa’s Academy.

With the ongoing support of the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, works by the visual arts finalists are exhibited annually in the museum. Bruce Hartman, Executive Director, Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, along with Whitney Williamson, Museum Registrar, selected one work from each of the finalists for exhibition in the museum. We hope you enjoy this year’s exhibition.

The Arts Council of Johnson County enhances the quality of life in the community by strengthening the arts.

Arts Council of Johnson County
Board of Directors
Abby Beckloff, President
David Oliver, Vice President of Operations and Finance
Josh Shelton, Immediate Past President
Diane Botwin
Maury Thompson

Art Ambassadors
Terry Calaway Pam and Gary Gradinger Kay Martin
Linda and Chuck Carlsen Shirley and Barnett Helzberg             Lee and Carl McCaffree
Richard Carrothers and Dennis Hennessy Linda and Topper Johntz Larry Meeker
Eileen Cohen Diana and Len Kline Marti and Tony Oppenheimer
Joni Cohen Margaret and Jerry Nerman Ann and Bob Regnier
Mark Gilman Susan and Lewis Nerman Pat and Beth McCown, 2015 Honorary Chair